The Board of Directors is responsible for the strategic direction of the company and for reviewing operational and financial performance. It currently comprises 3 Executive Directors and 7 Non–Executive Directors (including the Chairman of the Board).

Photo of Bob Ayling

Bob Ayling Chairman

Appointed a Non-Executive Director in April 2008, Robert became Chairman of Glas Cymru in July 2010. He is also Independent Chairman of HM Courts & Tribunals Service and Chairman of Dyson Limited. A solicitor by profession and with 20 years in the City of London and as a senior government legal adviser at the Department of Trade and Industry, he held a number of senior management positions at British Airways plc of which he was Group Managing Director and Chief Executive from 1993 to 2000. He is also a former Chairman of The International Dispute Resolution Centre Ltd, Sanctuary Group Plc and Holidaybreak plc and a non Executive Director of Royal & Sun Alliance Insurance Group plc.

Photo of Chris Jones

Chris Jones Chief Executive

Chris became Chief Executive in September 2013 having previously been Finance Director of Dŵr Cymru (Welsh Water) since May 2001 and Glas Cymru since April 2000.

Mr Jones has also previously served as Director of Regulation of Welsh Water and South Wales Electricity Plc. Before joining Welsh Water in 1995, he was a Director at National Economic Research Associates and, prior to that, worked for HM Treasury.

He is Deputy Chairman of the Council of Prince’s Trust – Cymru. He has previously been a Non-Executive Director of the Principality Building Society, and a Member of the Board of the Institute of Welsh Affairs.

Photo of Peter Perry

Peter Perry Chief Operating Officer

Appointed Chief Operating Officer in September 2013, Peter Perry has been Operations Director since July 2006. He has a civil engineering background and was formerly the Chief Operating Officer for United Utilities Operational Services (UUOS), having previously been the Operations Director for UUOS with responsibility for the operational contract with Welsh Water and UUOS’s water interests in Scotland and Ireland. Prior to joining UUOS, he worked for Dŵr Cymru (Welsh Water) for over 17 years. He is also a Director (representing Wales) at The Water Regulations Advisory Service, the national body specifying standards for materials and workmanship used in potable water supply.

Photo of John Bryant

John Bryant Non–Executive Director and Senior Independent Director

Appointed a Non-Executive Director in March 2001. John is a former Chief Executive of British Steel and, until December 2000, was Joint Chief Executive of Corus Plc. He was a Non-Executive Director of Costain Group Plc until January 2013, and was a Non-Executive Director of Bank of Wales Plc between 1996 and 2001.

Photo of Professor Stephen Palmer

Professor Stephen Palmer Non–Executive Director

Appointed a Non–Executive Director in October 2009, Professor Palmer (58) is Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health at Cardiff University, where he is the inaugural Cochrane Professor of Epidemiology, and he chairs the Wales Chief Medical Officer’s Health Protection Committee. From 2003 until July 2010 he has been Director of the Health Protection Agency’s chemical hazards division, local and regional services division, and head of profession for epidemiology in the HPA. A fellow of the Faculty of Public Health and the Royal College of Physicians, he has been an influential figure in public health for over 25 years. He has a long CV of previous public health professional functions and has written many books and peer reviewed papers on infectious diseases and chemical hazards.

Photo of Menna Richards

Menna Richards Non–Executive Director

Appointed a Non–Executive Director in November 2010, Menna Richards was until recently Director BBC Cymru Wales. Her previous executive roles include Controller BBC Cymru Wales, Managing Director, HTV Wales, Director of Broadcasting HTV Group plc. Menna has also been Chair of the Board of Governors, Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama and is a former Board member of the Cardiff Bay Development Corporation. She is a director of the Board of Welsh National Opera, and Vice–President of both Cardiff University and the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama. Menna was awarded the OBE for services to broadcasting in 2010.

Photo of James Strachan

James Strachan Non–Executive Director

Appointed a Non-Executive Director in June 2007. James is a Non-Executive Director of the Financial Services Authority, Towergate Insurance Limited, JP Morgan Asian Investment Trust PLC and Sarasin and Partners LLP, and he is Senior Visiting Fellow in risk and regulation at LSE. Former roles include: Chairman of the Audit Commission, a Non-Executive Director of the Bank of England, Legal and General Group plc, Care UK plc and Social Finance Limited. a Board member of Ofgem (the energy regulator), chairman of the charity RNID and Managing Director of Merrill Lynch.

Photo of Anna Walker

Anna Walker Non–Executive Director

Appointed a Non-Executive Director in March 2011, Anna has a wealth of experience in customer service, policy making and regulation. She is Chair of the Office of Rail Regulation and she completed the independent report commissioned by government in 2008 into household water charging. Her former roles include Chief Executive of the Healthcare Commission (2004-2009), Director General, Land Use and Rural Affairs at DEFRA, Director General - Energy Group at DTI, and Deputy Director General at Oftel, the telecoms sector regulator. Anna, who was given a CB in 2003 for public service, is Chairman of the charity Young Epilepsy, and a former Non-Executive Director of Consumer Focus, the statutory consumer champion body.

Photo of John Warren

John Warren Non–Executive Director

Appointed a Non-Executive Director in May 2012, John is a qualified accountant with more than 25 years experience in finance roles and has extensive experience in chairing Audit Committees of major UK listed companies. Until his retirement in 2005, he was Group Finance Director for WH Smith PLC and, before that, United Biscuits Plc. He is currently the Senior Independent Director and Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee at Spectris plc, and a Non Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee for Rank Group PLC and Bovis Homes PLC.

Photo of Graham Edwards

Graham Edwards Non–Executive Director

Appointed a Non-Executive Director in September 2013, Graham is currently Chief Executive Officer of Wales & West Utilities (WWU). He has significant senior management experience in the utility sector running electricity distribution and water businesses with South Wales Electricity, Hyder and Thames Water. He has held senior positions in various departments across these businesses including Engineering, Production, Human Resources and Operations. He is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel & Development and is currently Chair of CBI Wales.